Author Topic: Script palette?  (Read 2240 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline AutoFetishist

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 397
  • Karma: 2
  • Gender: Male
Script palette?
« on: October 22, 2007, 07:20:25 PM »
Does anyone know of a way to run scripts (in my case for Quark) from a floating palette? Some kind of utility?

I know I can assign keyboard shortcuts to scripts I have in the scriptmenu, but I guess I'm looking for something a little more GUI.

Maybe someone's come up with something in AppleScript Studio?

Offline Publi-Script

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 596
  • Karma: 16
  • Gender: Male
  • Automate your Life!
    • Publi-Script.com
Re: Script palette?
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2007, 08:16:00 AM »
Does anyone know of a way to run scripts (in my case for Quark) from a floating palette? Some kind of utility?

I know I can assign keyboard shortcuts to scripts I have in the scriptmenu, but I guess I'm looking for something a little more GUI.

Maybe someone's come up with something in AppleScript Studio?

Hi Witcher,

I am curious, what would be the advantages of this over using the Script Menu? I mean aside from having all you scripts a simple "click" away?
Michel Lemieux
Forum Administrator
-------------------------
OS X 10.6.4
Quark 6.5 / 7.5 / 8.1.6
Adobe Design Premium CS / CS2 / CS3 / CS4 / CS5
Script Debugger 4.5

Offline AutoFetishist

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 397
  • Karma: 2
  • Gender: Male
Re: Script palette?
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2007, 05:42:40 PM »
"I mean aside from having all you scripts a simple "click" away?"

Isn't that why we're all here? The joy of one-click?

Maybe that should be the new name of the site...

Offline larsen67

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 459
  • Karma: 10
  • Gender: Male
Re: Script palette?
« Reply #3 on: October 25, 2007, 03:54:35 AM »
You want to be able to switch groups of scripts into button mode like illustrator actions? As for advantages well it could be engineered better and not fall away requiring relaunches all day of one.

Offline AutoFetishist

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 397
  • Karma: 2
  • Gender: Male
Re: Script palette?
« Reply #4 on: October 28, 2007, 10:42:26 AM »
amen to that.

Goddamm Qrk 6....

Offline Rabbit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
Re: Script palette?
« Reply #5 on: December 17, 2007, 05:36:08 PM »
There is a program called Quickeys, (I know true script smiths might poo poo this program, but) it has a feature that allows you to create a floating menu that will hide when you switch apps. also it gives you the ability to assign any key stroke to anything.

Don't use the 'script' command though it really works better if you turn your script into a app the tell QK to open a file.

I really only use QK to call scripts and use the menus (they're great on a touch screen, if you have multiple screens have one just for your menus)
Stephen Oakes
Senior Graphic Designer
Oakes Oasis