Author Topic: Xpress tag tabs...  (Read 3537 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline AutoFetishist

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 397
  • Karma: 2
  • Gender: Male
Xpress tag tabs...
« on: October 12, 2010, 03:34:34 PM »
Rats...
Following up on this post:
http://publi-script.com/Forums/index.php?topic=504.0

I still seem to be getting a defect when I prepare Xpress-tagged text, and I never figured out what was causing it originally.

The problem is in line 4 below:


for some reason, even though that paragraph's stylesheet is tagged to be different, when imported into QXP, it comes with the tab settings of the paragraph before it (which has a diff. stylesheet). QXP also identifies para 4's stylesheet with a "+" next to the stylesheet name in the palette.

Can anyone see the problem?


Offline Jean-Marie Schwartz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 436
  • Karma: 6
  • Gender: Male
Re: Xpress tag tabs...
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2010, 03:57:27 AM »
Hum! not of much help but I think you somehow have to "reset" the style sheet prior to applying another one. I think Michel already said sth about it in another thread. Have you searched the Forum? Or Quark's Help?
Jean-Marie Schwartz
May the Schwartz be with you :-)

= Mac Pro Quad-Core Intel 2.8 GHz 10 Go 1066 MHz DDR3 Mac OS 10.8.5 QuarkXPress 9.5.4.1 Adobe CS5 =

Offline Publi-Script

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 596
  • Karma: 16
  • Gender: Male
  • Automate your Life!
    • Publi-Script.com
Re: Xpress tag tabs...
« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2010, 08:47:54 AM »
No the code looks OK,

However, I notice that sometimes when I import tagged text with tabs, the tabs get all out of whack. My simple fix for that is to somply do a find/change in Quark replacing all tabs with other ones (Find What: \t , Change To: \t).

@Jean-Marie: It is when you want to apply style directly with AppleScript that you have to reset it first.

HTH
Michel Lemieux
Forum Administrator
-------------------------
OS X 10.6.4
Quark 6.5 / 7.5 / 8.1.6
Adobe Design Premium CS / CS2 / CS3 / CS4 / CS5
Script Debugger 4.5

Offline AutoFetishist

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 397
  • Karma: 2
  • Gender: Male
Re: Xpress tag tabs...
« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2010, 09:01:22 AM »
Will that find/change in QX work, if QX has already given the paragraph's style a "+" sign?

Offline Publi-Script

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 596
  • Karma: 16
  • Gender: Male
  • Automate your Life!
    • Publi-Script.com
Re: Xpress tag tabs...
« Reply #4 on: October 13, 2010, 09:16:33 AM »
I never noticed if there was a plus sign (+) assigned to the style when that happened, just that my tabs were wrong somehow.

Now, since you apply a different character style fro the Company name, it stands to reason that the applied style is no longer "Pure", if you place your cursor within the text AFTER the first tab, you should see the plus sign go away. (because the style applied at insertion point should be pure then)

HTH
Michel Lemieux
Forum Administrator
-------------------------
OS X 10.6.4
Quark 6.5 / 7.5 / 8.1.6
Adobe Design Premium CS / CS2 / CS3 / CS4 / CS5
Script Debugger 4.5

Offline AutoFetishist

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 397
  • Karma: 2
  • Gender: Male
Re: Xpress tag tabs...
« Reply #5 on: October 13, 2010, 09:30:02 AM »
Yeah, I made sure my cursor was in a part of the paragraph that didn't have the ch. style. applied to it.
Nuts...

Offline Publi-Script

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 596
  • Karma: 16
  • Gender: Male
  • Automate your Life!
    • Publi-Script.com
Re: Xpress tag tabs...
« Reply #6 on: October 13, 2010, 09:52:10 AM »
Does your text import include your style definitions?

If so, can you send me your text file and if not can you send me a text file that does?
Michel Lemieux
Forum Administrator
-------------------------
OS X 10.6.4
Quark 6.5 / 7.5 / 8.1.6
Adobe Design Premium CS / CS2 / CS3 / CS4 / CS5
Script Debugger 4.5

Offline AutoFetishist

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 397
  • Karma: 2
  • Gender: Male
Re: Xpress tag tabs...
« Reply #7 on: October 13, 2010, 09:55:24 AM »
No, I don't include the style definitions. (Would I want to, if they already exist in the importing document?)

I'm not at work today, but I'll send you an XPress tag export of the importing doc when I go in tomorrow.

Thnkx

Offline Publi-Script

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 596
  • Karma: 16
  • Gender: Male
  • Automate your Life!
    • Publi-Script.com
Re: Xpress tag tabs...
« Reply #8 on: October 13, 2010, 10:10:18 AM »
No you do not necessarily want to but if I am to test this here I do need them ;-)
Michel Lemieux
Forum Administrator
-------------------------
OS X 10.6.4
Quark 6.5 / 7.5 / 8.1.6
Adobe Design Premium CS / CS2 / CS3 / CS4 / CS5
Script Debugger 4.5

Offline AutoFetishist

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 397
  • Karma: 2
  • Gender: Male
Re: Xpress tag tabs...
« Reply #9 on: October 13, 2010, 10:23:07 AM »
Roger.

First thing tomorrow, I'll post them.