Author Topic: Combining PDF  (Read 5054 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline larsen67

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 459
  • Karma: 10
  • Gender: Male
Re: Combining PDF
« Reply #10 on: April 25, 2007, 03:13:35 AM »
I did send him an invitation but he has yet to respond ;-(

Not even for five stars bonus from the start and more karma than you can shake a stick at. A true asset to the Quark forums.

Offline Glenn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 139
  • Karma: 4
  • Gender: Male
Re: Combining PDF
« Reply #11 on: April 25, 2007, 05:33:31 AM »
I get the message "consolodating duplicate fonts" in Acrobat 7 or 8 at the point of adding pages, I'm not sure that Save or Save As makes a difference regarding fonts.
Can the optimization process invoked by Save As be user customized?

Also I forgot to mention that one theory suggests that dropped characters/glyphs when combining PDFs may be avoided by avoiding subsets and embedding the whole font. I would say that this is heresay on my part since I've never actually come across it.

Offline marcusstringer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: 1
  • Gender: Male
    • Midland Typesetters
Re: Combining PDF
« Reply #12 on: April 25, 2007, 05:45:14 PM »
sorry for the delay...I was enjoying a Public Holiday here Australia yesterday.

chardonnay is correct.
Doing a "save as" does clean the file up, just like doing a save as in Quark etc. it also in re-embeds fonts after doing any type corrections using the touchup tool.
I never subset any font when I Create PDFs.

I have had characters drop out due to the font (which is embeded) becoming not embeded after I close the font from Suitcase.

At which stage does the character drop out.  Before or after you insert another PDF, if after, then is it before or after you save.


 
Posted on: April 25, 2007, 03:14:35 PM
I guessing you had the font's ticked to embed in the eps's
Posted on: April 25, 2007, 03:36:47 PM
Wait...sorry you did say you have had it working so that answers my last question.
Posted on: April 25, 2007, 03:37:54 PM
One more thought.

Have you tried doing this on another machine with no fonts loaded.