Publi-Script Forums

General => General Discussion => Topic started by: larsen67 on October 27, 2008, 06:10:48 AM

Title: RIP CRT
Post by: larsen67 on October 27, 2008, 06:10:48 AM
Well on friday my trusty old monitor went up in a cloud of smoke. The old G4 that I have at home is on its second power supply and I think its days are numbered too. I don't think my budget will stretch to a spanking new mac pro so Im looking at getting the 24" iMac this will be my first experience with the intel macs. I know this should be fine but I will need to partition the drive as I want to have Leopard & Tiger installed (I need to run CS2 & Quark 6.5 to be able to work from home) just wondering if anybody has any experience of working on one of these and how they rate it? I can only go to 4gb ram & only 1 internal hd. I would like a time capsule but that would have to come later. Im sure if I go for this I will need to ask some now old stuff about running scripts etc.
Title: Re: RIP CRT
Post by: Jean-Marie Schwartz on October 27, 2008, 07:21:36 AM
Maybe this is very subjective, but I couldn't work on a "new" iMac because of its display.
This said, what's the problem with partitionning the HD? Are you saying you've never done that before and you'd like some help? Or is it more about having 2 sytems working on a single machine?
Title: Re: RIP CRT
Post by: larsen67 on October 27, 2008, 07:54:10 AM
Im hoping that partitioning the drive will be easy. I have done this lots of times before now. I've never tried any of my apps on an intel mac before. The mac will of cause come with Leopard installed but I will need to flatten the hd to partition it. Before Im able to reinstall 2 systems having never used an imac at work or used Leopard before I was wondering if anybody had done this before. Time machine will be something I will need to check first I think. What don't you like about the display?
Title: Re: RIP CRT
Post by: Jean-Marie Schwartz on October 27, 2008, 11:48:54 AM
Im hoping that partitioning the drive will be easy.
:)
Quote
I have done this lots of times before now. I've never tried any of my apps on an intel mac before. The mac will of cause come with Leopard installed but I will need to flatten the hd to partition it. Before Im able to reinstall 2 systems having never used an imac at work or used Leopard before I was wondering if anybody had done this before. Time machine will be something I will need to check first I think. What don't you like about the display?
I've installed 2 of them a couple of months ago. Nothing very special about it. Don't know if you want to use Time machine on the same HD. They don't recommend this but that's what I've done*. In this case I had no extra disk to link to so I partitioned the HD as to house a backup straight. Today the client phoned me for the second time to get help to recover data and fortunately Time machine is linked to the same machine which is by far easier for the client (!). I myself have not installed Leopard on my machine so it's the only approach I have of it.

* I think it depends on how you see Time machine: or as a backup in case your machine crashes badly (in which case it's obviously not to be installed on the same HD), or as a backup in case you delete some important data (in which case a partition is OK).

Quote
What don't you like about the display?
Its reflects. I have a Cinema display which is much more convenient for me. But as I told you this is probably very subjective and it won't bother you.
Title: Re: RIP CRT
Post by: larsen67 on October 27, 2008, 12:45:32 PM
The partition would not be for time machine. I was just hoping that it would not have an effect on it. I have a few external drives that I could use for that. For back up purposes using the same HD would not be suitable I've had several HD's go down in my time (I have several HD utilities for recovery) The screen I think I could live with I don't intend to use this mac all the time but would be required once in a while to work from home. For a proper back-up I could take our TAIT drive home and use that.
Title: Re: RIP CRT
Post by: larsen67 on October 29, 2008, 04:18:48 AM
Having delved into this a bit more it looks like my plans have been scuppered. Tiger it would appear is not capable of booting one of these new iMacs and Leopard is minimum requirement. So partitioning the drive or winding back the OS with my Tiger disc are out. Im going to have to have a re-think… BTW it was more the subjective that I was after having only had a quick play in the Apple Store Im not too keen on the Mighty Mouse the wireless keyboard is not extended. I have no idea how long the batteries perform for with these, a pain? Would have preferred matt finish monitor but think I could live with it. I could do with getting to know Leopard though. Thanks for the input anyhow.
Title: Re: RIP CRT
Post by: Jean-Marie Schwartz on October 29, 2008, 08:27:32 AM
Tiger it would appear is not capable of booting one of these new iMacs and Leopard is minimum requirement. So partitioning the drive or winding back the OS with my Tiger disc are out.
Oops! Didn't notice that bit. It's true on my side I only installed Leopard, not both of them. Simply thought it'd be OK.  :-\
Sorry about it!
Title: Re: RIP CRT
Post by: larsen67 on October 29, 2008, 08:59:13 AM
JMS, me too… what do they say "presumption is the mother of all **ck ups" a near expensive mistake!
Title: Re: RIP CRT
Post by: Publi-Script on October 29, 2008, 11:22:46 AM
... (I need to run CS2 & Quark 6.5 to be able to work from home) ...

Hi Larsen, I am coming in late but I wanted to tell you that I do run these apps on my Intel mac running Leopard...

Why do you feel you still need Tiger?
Title: Re: RIP CRT
Post by: larsen67 on October 29, 2008, 12:30:00 PM
Michel, you are not too late (nothing purchased just yet) I've been very happy with the last version of Tiger IMO its been the best OS experience yet bar none. I really am 50/50 at the moment as to try running these apps on Leopard. The Apple retailer has all the same versions installed on the demo machine. But as we know demos & real life working of apps are two different beasts… Is your over all experience with the versions of the apps I have a good one on this OS?

At work we decided to buy the last generation of the g5 macs to give us as long as possible before needing to upgrade.
At some point or other I will have to get to grips with this OS.
Title: Re: RIP CRT
Post by: Publi-Script on October 29, 2008, 12:57:39 PM
Nothing big comes to mind so it shouldn't be that bad ;-) I use leopard both at home and at work and both on MacIntel boxes.

Aside from the usual "lost at first" feeling on working with a new OS, most of my problems, and this has nothing to do with Leopard per say, came from the fact that some applications that run under Rosetta does not like having their script (or Script Editor) running outside of Rosetta. For that I duplicated my Script Editor app and renamed them with "(Intel)" and "(Rosetta)" suffixes. I also made sure that the "Rosetta" one had it "Open with Rosetta" flag checked. Now whenever I need to script an application I do it in the "proper" script Editor based on the application build.

HTH
Title: Re: RIP CRT
Post by: larsen67 on October 30, 2008, 04:25:01 AM
Michel, that sounds like a top tip I will certainly be coping that idea when I get an intel mac. Amongst other reasons I feel I need to get an up to date & speed mac to progress with my scripting. Im wanting to try my hand at JavaScript too and time for learning at work is minimal. CS4 native apps may be some time off for me yet as much as I would like them I can't justify the cost for the time being.
Title: Re: RIP CRT
Post by: Glenn on November 27, 2008, 07:03:30 AM
Hi Larsen,

I put an Imac in here a couple of months ago, its well fast compared to the G5 towers. I've loaded it with CS4, Q7, Q8, Suitcase Fusion2 and all work well together. I can definately say now that some fonts behave (reflow) on the intel chip compared to q7 on a PPC. I'd really recommend an external drive for TimeMachine, knock the RAM back to 2GB if money is really tight. We got an external 1TB LaCie for £119, Ive seen an iomega 500GB in Comet for £49.99 this week.

I can't believe you think Tiger is good, you are obviously spoiled at work with your Xserve server, its been nothing but problems here since it went in with talking to old PC's, (though it does seem to work better with our brand new DELL running Windows2003 Server, - maybe just because its put together in Vancouver... Michel?) My impressions of Leopard so far are good, but everytime I use coverflow I want to drag my finger across the screen ipod style.
Title: Re: RIP CRT
Post by: Glenn on November 27, 2008, 07:34:17 AM
forgot to say, VNC is a lot slicker on leopard.
Title: Re: RIP CRT
Post by: larsen67 on November 27, 2008, 09:56:04 AM
Thanks Glenn, I actually ordered it last week and picked it up yesterday from the Apple Centre here in Chester. Got it home plugged it in and after 2 minutes and entering 2 codes one for the wireless keyboard the other for my wireless hub it was up and running. Went for 4G RAM & 1TB HD the Time Capsule & Externals will have to follow. Got it with EyeTV so I should be able to use it for DTVB too. Tonight I will probably get some of it set up then try work out the TV part as I've never seen this before. It will most likely end up being a media centre but I will need to be able to work on it too from time to time. Were all on G5 towers at work running Tiger with a Tiger xserve the most trouble free network this place has ever seen. I've seen some problems posted about mixing Leopard into a Tiger network so I will have to have a read through them before I try connecting through VPN. Always too much new stuff to be learning and never enough time. For the time being I will not be running native apps but hoping that the speed of the new mac even if running in emulation will be sufficient. Im sure after tonight I will start to have may more questions.
Title: Re: RIP CRT
Post by: Glenn on November 27, 2008, 11:08:43 AM
I've only seen EyeTV running on a G4 Mac Mini and it was ok but often glitchy and really easy to accidentally wipe a recording. My friend who had it got a stand alone Humax Hard Disc recorder/Freeview box, and uses that all the time now.
Title: Re: RIP CRT
Post by: larsen67 on November 28, 2008, 11:15:21 AM
Installed it last night  :) fired  ;) it up switched to channel 5  :D and city won!!  ;D I bet it can't make them win this weekend its the derby up this end on Sunday… This morning it woke me on schedule booting at 7.30 and playing BBC breakfast, no cup of coffee though…  :(
Title: Re: RIP CRT
Post by: larsen67 on January 16, 2009, 04:15:28 AM
I have been using the EyeTV for over 2 months now and to be honest for the cost of the thing I think its excellent. No issues with anything its recorded and the things I've exported to put on the phone are great. Thus far impressed. Only issue I had was with the internet DB for show listings but that has been fine for some time now.
Title: Re: RIP CRT
Post by: Glenn on January 16, 2009, 04:58:33 AM
"things I've exported to put on the phone are great"

?

...and City appear to have found £243M under the rug, they should really partner Kaka with Christiano Ronaldo, he wanted to play for a bigger club in the summer.

My new "Media centre" arrived with Santa, but its awkward to use on the internet though, needs an extra £50 bit of kit to record TV, and I can't be bothered trying to copy pics, movies or tunes to its hard drive. On the plus side its a fine bluray player and the games are 1st rate. Its a PS3.
Title: Re: RIP CRT
Post by: larsen67 on January 16, 2009, 05:44:51 AM
Thats next on my list. Santa got me an iPhone and they are fantastic it has already become the tool I don't think I could live without. Some of the apps that are available for it are great too. I have a whole set for my diving that would cost hundreds of £'s and they were less than £10 for the lot. It currently has 8 hours of top gear that I want to watch and 1400 tracks of music.
Title: Re: RIP CRT
Post by: Glenn on January 16, 2009, 06:23:55 AM
So EyeTv can convert to iPhone compatible format, have you found a way to get a DVD to yet?
Title: Re: RIP CRT
Post by: larsen67 on January 16, 2009, 08:06:20 AM
DVD to iPhone? I have not looked at this but may try at the weekend time permitting.